The Shield and Sword Newsletter - Online • April 2018

President’s Day, ROTC Awards

LSU paid tribute to its military heritage on April 19 at the President’s Day Parade and Change of Command Ceremony at the LSU War Memorial on the Parade Ground. Following the parade, America’s future military officers in the Corps of Cadets were honored for their accomplishments at the seventh annual Joint ROTC Awards Ceremony at the LSU Student Union. The program was followed by a reception for the honorees and their parents and guests. The LSU Corps of Cadets includes the Army and Air Force ROTC units at LSU and the Naval ROTC unit at Southern University.

From left, Cadets of the Ole War Skule President John W. Milazzo, Jr.; LSU Board of Supervisors member Mary Werner; LSU Alumni Association COO Steve Helmke; Professor of Naval Science CAPT Dean Rawls, Southern University; LSU Military Excellence Campaign co-chair Laura Leach; and LSU Commandant and Professor of Military Science MAJ Rian Carter. Photo by Ray Dry

The Ole War Skule Senior Symposium Class of 2018-2019 was introduced during the Joint ROTC Awards Ceremony. From left, Cadet Shayna Wilcox, Cadet Richard Weaver, Cadet Brandon Volpe, Cadet Lee Nordyke, MIDN Michael Niedermair, Cadet David Kelley, Cadet Elijah Jones, MIDN Jacob Holl, MIDN Renée Hill, Cadet Andrea Dent, Cadet Maria Chavez, Cadet Victoria Buquet, Cadet Austin Beckermeyer. Not pictured, Cadet Joel DeRobertis is studying abroad.
Photo provided by Cadet Buquet

Left photo: From left, incoming Corps Commander MIDN/CAPT Jacob Holl, right, returns the Corps Colors to Corps SGM Dane Ivy (in Air Force blue) at the conclusion of the Change of Command Ceremony. Also pictured are Outgoing Corps Commander C/COL Michael Orgeron and Army Cadre member MAJ Steve Whitmore.

Right photo: Commandant of Cadets and Professor of Military Science MAJ Rian Carter, right, presents the Raytheon-Army ROTC Outstanding Graduate in the U.S. Army Reserve Officers Training Corps No. 1 Cadet in the Nation award to C/COL Michael Orgeron. Photos by Ray Dry

Trooping the lines, from left, MAJ Steve Whitmore, representing Commandant of Cadets MAJ Rian Carter; CAPT Dean Rawls, Professor of Naval Science, Southern University; Lt Col Robert Russell, Interim Professor of Aerospace Studies, LSU; and President F. King Alexander. In rear, MIDN Jeremy Spears, Commander of Troops for President's Day. Photo by Ray Dry

Chairs of Honor

Unoccupied seats honoring those who are still prisoners of war (POW) or missing in action (MIA) are now in place in the Maravich Assembly Center, left, and Alex Box Stadium. A POW-MIA chair was installed in Tiger Stadium in November 2017. The chairs – awaiting the return of POWS and MIAs – are permanent fixtures and will remain empty and guarded by ROTC cadets during home games. Photos courtesy LSU Athletics

LSU Earns 2018-2019 Military Friendly© School Designation

LSU has earned the 2018-2019 Military Friendly© School designation. Institutions earning the Military Friendly© School designation were evaluated using both public data sources and responses from a proprietary survey. For the first time, student survey data was taken into consideration for the designation. More than 1,400 schools participated in the 2018-2019 survey with 941 earning the designation.

The 2018-2019 Military Friendly© Schools list can be found at

For more information about LSU’s student veteran programs, visit

ODK Taps Cadets of the Ole War Skule Members, Honorees

Governor John Bel Edwards, a 2017 Military Hall of Honor inductee; LSU Alumni Association president Cliff Vannoy, an ex officio member of the Cadets of the Ole War Skule Board of Directors; and Lance D’Armond, a member of Cadets of the Ole War Skule, were among those inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) in March. Also honored were D-D Breaux, LSU gymnastics coach, and Otey White, LSU adjunct professor of mass communication. Photo by Tyler Walker.

Taking part in the ceremony at St. Alban’s Chapel at LSU were ODK Alpha Nu Circle officers and new members, from left, Claire Parsiola, vice president of membership; Paige Davis, circle coordinator; inductees D-D Breaux, Lance D’Armond and Cliff Vannoy; Signe Parsiola, president; inductee Otey White; and Nichole Kaufman, treasurer. Edwards, tapped for membership earlier in the month at the state capitol by alumni liaison Randy Gurie, was unable to attend the induction. Photo by Ray Dry.

Cadets Celestial

Jerry D. Dumas, Sr., Dec. 29, 2017, Baton Rouge, La.

William J. “Billy” Heroman, a life member of Cadets of the Ole War Skule and a 2012 Military Hall of Honor inductee, March 21, 2018, Baton Rouge, La.

Dorothy Howell, retired professor of home economics and a member of Cadets of the Ole War Skule, Feb. 26, 2018, Baton Rouge, La.

Vaughn R., “Bobby” Ross, Sr., a 2015 Military Hall of Honor inductee March 5, 2018 Baton Rouge, La.

Mark Your Calendar

Spring 2018

Board Meeting

Thursday, May 10

LSU Faculty Club

Commissioning Ceremony

Thursday, May 10

LSU Union Theater

LSU Memorial Day Ceremony

Wednesday, May 30

LSU War Memorial


Wednesday, May 30

LSU Faculty Club

Hall of Honor Nominations

June 1

Deadline for submission

Fall 2018

Corps Orientation

Friday Aug. 17

Coast & Environment Bldg.

“Welcome Back”

Thursday, Sept. 6


LSU Salutes-Luncheon

Friday, Nov. 2

LSU Union Ballroom

LSU Salutes - President's Reception/Dinner

Friday, Nov. 2

LSU Faculty Club

LSU Salutes - Annual Assembly

Saturday, Nov. 3

LSU War Memorial

Annual Meeting

Saturday, Nov. 3

LSU Faculty Club

LSU Salutes - Alabama vs. LSU

Saturday, Nov. 3

Tiger Stadium


Thursday, Dec. 13


Connect with Us:


Contact Info:


Having trouble viewing this email? Click here.

Or visit the publications page of Cadets of the Ole War Skule website.